top of page

‘Please don’t let my baby die’- Parents of Baby A and B recount heartbreaking moment child dies

A court has heard of the moment the parents of Baby A and B witnessed their baby die, as the Lucy Letby trial resumes.


The mum, who has not been named for legal reasons, said in her statement:


"I was frantic, anxious and extremely upset."


"All I can remember is coming in and seeing what felt like hundreds of people trying to resuscitate [Baby A]."


The mum was asked for permission by medical staff to stop resuscitative attempts.


"I couldn't bring myself to say stop.


"The only thing I could bring myself to do was nod my head.


"One of the things that upsets me the most is I never had the chance to hold him in my arms."


In a separate statement read out to the court, the father of the twins said:


"I can only remember seeing 'hundreds' of people trying resuscitate.


"We were asked if we were religious, and if we would like to say a prayer."


"Neither one of us wanted to say stop.


"[The mum] was hysterical.


"I said something along the lines of 'you have to let him go, he's not there any more, you have to let him go'.


"She nodded her head and that gave permission.


"One thing that upsets us both is we never had the chance to hold [Child A] when he was alive.

"We were told he was doing fine, breathing by himself, and doing well."


Letby denies murdering seven babies at the Countess of Chester Hospital neonatal unit and attempting to murder 10 more. The trial continues.





35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page